Sex discrimination

There are so many fields in which women receive special treatment that it’s easy not to notice some of the minor ones.

We used to hear feminists whining with monotonous regularity about men-only clubs, but we hear less on the topic these days. Maybe it’s because (a) journalists are so bored by the topic they now refuse to write about it, or (b) feminists finally understood that member organisations (men-only clubs, the Women’s Institute…)  can legally restrict their membership as they see fit. If those organisations wish to limit membership to one-legged deaf Latvian transsexuals, so be it. Feminists finally ‘got it’ despite having IQs some 17.4 points lower than normal women, on average (source: an unpublished paper written by an academic at the Department of Psychology, University of Wakefield, who prefers to remain nameless. It’s certainly not professor Arthur Hislop.)

I mention this as a prelude to a campaign I’m about to launch on a minor example of sex discrimination. I recently moved house and for the first time in my life I find myself living near a publicly-run sports centre with a swimming pool. I’ve learnt that the pool has ‘ladies only sessions’ every weekend, so I’ve just emailed them with the following:

Dear Sir /Madam,

I’ve recently moved into this area and object to the ‘ladies only sessions’ you have every weekend. This is sex discrimination aimed solely against men, and unacceptable in a publicly-run facility. It may even be illegal. To my mind you should have either no gender-specific sessions or an equivalent number of hours which are ‘ladies only’ and ‘gents only’. Could you please inform me of the council official(s) I need to raise this matter with? Thank you.

You do what you can…

 

About Mike Buchanan

I'm a men's human rights advocate, writer, and publisher. My primary focus is leading the political party I launched in 2013, Justice for Men & Boys (and the women who love them). I still work actively on two campaigns I launched in early 2012, Campaign for Merit in Business and the Anti-Feminism League. In 2014 I launched The Alternative Sexism Project, aiming to raise public understanding that the sexism faced by men and boys has far more grievous consequences than the sexism faced by women and girls.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sex discrimination

  1. mananon says:

    This sort of thing is widespread, and so much so people don’t even notice. Feminism has had some success in forcing traditionally male-only clubs to admit women, yet there has been no real drive to challenge female-only organisations to change their policies.

    In some other countries the situation is worse, with things such as women-only hotel floors and train carriages. No doubt these will be introduced to this country too unless people are willing to take a stand on the issue.

Leave a Reply

