Mike Buchanan’s interview on the BBC Radio Scotland show, ‘Call Kaye’

I was interviewed this morning on BBC Radio Scotland:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cv9YPKuEduk

I was called by the station after my recent BBC Radio 2 interview, asking me to appear on Call Kaye. The show’s presented by a well-known Scottish broadcaster, Kaye Adams, and I was informed I’d be debating with a feminist, and told her identity in advance. The intended tone of the programme became apparent even before I was contacted to contribute. Ms Adams said at the start of the programme:

‘Do we need a party fighting for justice for men and boys? I had a clenched fist as I was reading that line.’

Wow. Can you imagine the uproar which would result if a well-known male broadcaster on a popular radio show said the following?

‘Do we need a party fighting for justice for women and girls? I had a clenched fist as I was reading that line.’

So I wasn’t in the best of moods from the outset, and I expect this came across to listeners. Then it turned out (without my having been informed in advance) that the ‘feminist’ was the Scottish writer Alan Bissett. Now I could debate with militant feminists for hours without losing my cool, but male feminists? They make my blood boil. I’m sure in future I’ll be more able to keep calm in such situations, it’s all just part of the learning process.

After the programme, I sent Alan Bissett the following email:

Alan, good morning. It’s come to something when misandrous militant feminists are represented by a man in their relentless battle against men’s human rights. I’ve just had a lengthy phone call with a woman who sent me an email (content below) after hearing this morning’s discussion. Several times she became distraught and broke down in tears during our conversation. What response would you give her, I wonder? A number of Scottish men will commit suicide today due to their treatment by the justice system and the social services system, both of which are 72% financed by men, and supported by people like you. Still, you’re presumably not suffering personally. So after those men jump under trains, or off tall buildings, you shouldn’t be ashamed of what you did this morning. I don’t imagine you’d have any sympathy for Tom Ball, either:

http://j4mb.wordpress.com/2013/03/17/man-walks-up-to-the-main-door-of-a-courthouse-douses-himself-with-petrol-lights-a-match-dies-tom-ball-rip/

The email sent to me by the lady I spoke to this morning:

My son, and also many of my male friends, have suffered grave injustices at the hands of social services – backed up by greedy solicitors and barristers, police and corrupt sheriffs and judges in the courts. My son has been imprisoned twice, but is completely innocent of any wrongdoing. Social services have attempted to destroy his excellent relationship with his daughter, and have fostered her relationship with the mother who did harm my granddaughter some years ago. They are also exposing my granddaughter to the new partner of this mother – against whom my granddaughter has made an allegation of sexual abuse. My son had a bright future job-wise, but this has all but been destroyed by the persecution he has suffered. Both my son and myself are also at the moment suffering from police harassment – practised by a police force who have blindly believed everything they have been told by social services.

A friend of mine was denied joint custody of his son, and prevented from protecting his son against abuse, by a social services system which protected the female abuser of his son. Despite much evidence in his favour, the courts did nothing to protect this child. Right now another friend of his is fighting in the courts for custody and contact rights with his daughters – who their mother maliciously and falsely accused him of sexually abusing.

The list goes on and on – and despite all these so-called law reforms – the courts continue to penalise fathers who simply seek to be good fathers to their children. The examples I have given above are simply three of many – as you will know from the media. I am not so naïve as to believe there are no bad men about, but there are many more good, honest and dedicated men who are being persecuted by local authorities – controlled largely by the feminists you obviously deplore – and this is what is destroying family life in the UK

(Update 19.3.13: Alan Bissett responded politely and at length to my email, and we’ve had a courteous email exchange. However, I don’t see that the contents of those emails would be of interest to many people, so I have no plans to publish them. I hope to publicly debate with Alan one day.)

About Mike Buchanan

I'm a men's human rights advocate, writer, and publisher. My primary focus is leading the political party I launched in 2013, Justice for Men & Boys (and the women who love them). I still work actively on two campaigns I launched in early 2012, Campaign for Merit in Business and the Anti-Feminism League. In 2014 I launched The Alternative Sexism Project, aiming to raise public understanding that the sexism faced by men and boys has far more grievous consequences than the sexism faced by women and girls.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mike Buchanan’s interview on the BBC Radio Scotland show, ‘Call Kaye’

  1. jazpen says:

    I heard the programme. Nothing surprising as there is often an underlying anti-male bias in Call Kaye but this has become quite common in broadcasting and advertising generally, as a (female) contributor to the programme tried to point out.
    Good luck Mike, there are many millions of us, male and, I suspect, a fair percentage female, wishing you well.

Leave a Reply

