Glosswitch’s blog piece for ‘New Statesman’: ‘Young women’s stark choice: be utterly obsessed with food or be considered too fat’

Glosswitch is whining about young women’s problems with food, weight, blah, blah, blah, in a New Statesman blog piece today:

http://www.newstatesman.com/magazines/2013/07/young-womens-stark-choice-be-utterly-obsessed-food-or-be-considered-too-fat

I recommend you read at least the comment thread which follows it. Collectively, they say, ‘Women – take responsibility for yourselves!!!’ I imagine most or even all such comments will be ‘pulled’, as will mine – the New Statesman has pulled many of my comments in the past. Mine is a somewhat calmer contribution than many others in this comment thread:

“Maybe – just maybe – women are more interested than men in their appearance (and therefore their weight) because women get a far higher return on attractiveness than men, e.g. attracting and retaining better-off partners? If that’s unfair, it’s arguably a damned sight more unfair on men than women.

All humans have stark choices:

1. Consume more calories than you expend, and gain weight..

2. Consume fewer calories than you expend, and lose weight.

3. Consume the same calories as you expend, and maintain weight.

Young women need to do what everyone else has to do, to take responsibility for themselves. Putting a female spin on the issue of obesity is whining, and weight stories should be directed to Laura Bates’s ‘Everyday Whining Project’ which has – ironically – a limitless appetite for such nonsense.

Will women never stop infantilising women – both others, and themselves?

Have a nice day.

Mike Buchanan

JUSTICE FOR MEN & BOYS

(and the women who love them)

http://j4mb.org.uk ”

About Mike Buchanan

I'm a men's human rights advocate, writer, and publisher. My primary focus is leading the political party I launched in 2013, Justice for Men & Boys (and the women who love them). I still work actively on two campaigns I launched in early 2012, Campaign for Merit in Business and the Anti-Feminism League. In 2014 I launched The Alternative Sexism Project, aiming to raise public understanding that the sexism faced by men and boys has far more grievous consequences than the sexism faced by women and girls.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Glosswitch’s blog piece for ‘New Statesman’: ‘Young women’s stark choice: be utterly obsessed with food or be considered too fat’

  1. Sorry I got bored about a third of the way into her article, plus I wanted some chocolate so y’know, but seriously…what a load of codswallop!
    I readily admit I could do with losing a lot of weight, but you know what, my weight is just that – MY weight, my responsibility and no one else’s.
    I was lucky enough to grow up believing in myself regardless of how much I weighed, my fantastic mother who was ill most of my life sadly and died when I was 20, taught me that no matter what I weighed, being happy, health of mind and soul were a lot more important than what the scales said.

    Yeah admittedly school and being around other women was tough at times as they did bully me mercilessly, but then, they did that even when I wasn’t overweight as I simply didn’t fit in so I was used to being on the outside (and was actually quite grateful to be).
    But, being overweight now has not stopped me having a fulfilling life, finding an incredible partner who makes me feel special, loved, sexy and wanted everyday of my life (as I do for him too), it hasn’t stopped me running businesses and pursuing my goals in life and never will, regardless of how much I weigh.

    So yeah, to Glosswitch and the other whingy mares out there, I’d say grow up, stop hiding behind this “pressure to be thin BS” and all these other lame excuses – if they really do listen to the mags/other women/media and need those for their self esteem then in my opinion they’re showing how incredibly dumb and shallow they are.
    If they don’t have the sense and courage to stand up, be themselves and say “I don’t care what anyone thinks of me and I don’t need anyone’s approval” then tough shit, they either need to grow up, stop following the rest of the sheep, grow a backbone and enjoy the freedom that comes with breaking away from women and their crap or shut up about it and accept that being part of their sad pathetic little cliques is THE most important thing to them and they want to spend their entire lives trying to be like everyone else.

    What a sad way to live your life!

    Now scuse me, I fancy a burger 😉

  2. I particularly enjoyed the bit where she says men are either the cause of the problem or we are saying women are superficial and deluded. Damned if we do damned if we don’t.

  3. I was originally “discussing” this subject with her on her blog, is it a coincidence that suddenly it appears in the New Statesman? Well, suffice it to say it made an appearance on my own blog.

    http://onlyonepinman.wordpress.com/2013/07/26/men-women-are-too-fat-i-mean-too-skinny-well-whatever-they-are-its-your-fault/

    • Great Stuff. I no longer post comments on ‘Glosswatch’ blog pieces because regardless of how polite my comments are, if they don’t follow her desired narrative (which they never do, of course) they have a habit of disappearing. To be fair, she’s left a few up.

      • I’m actually slightly flattered that my comments “inspired” her to write a column. I do feel slightly bad for her in so much as it’s an ill thought out article that has garnered virtually no support and lots of criticism. None of her feminista friends diving in to drag our out the mire but plenty of men telling her she’s talking shite. But that’s a harsh lesson learned – you have to stand by what you say and take the heat so probably best notblog when you’re angry. Even better if you don’t publish a column for a newspaper.

Leave a Reply

