Whiny Feminists of the Month

A Voice for Men is the most-visited and most influential men’s human rights advocacy website in the world, and our piece on The Whine Club was published there. We’ve been delighted by the number and quality of comments the piece has attracted.

We invited nominations for our Whiny Feminist of the Month awards, and were inundated with suggestions, as you’d expect. More than a few people have suggested we have a ‘Whiny Feminist of the Week’ award, but we’re too busy to add that to our list of things to do. Maybe one day. Frankly, there are more than enough contenders for ‘Whiny Feminist of the Day’ awards.

The inaugural winner of the Whiny Feminist of the Month award, which leads to automatic membership of The Whine Club, was – quelle surprise – Laura Bates, the ‘brains’ behind The Everyday Sexism Project. We generally refer to it as The Everyday Whining Project. Her certificate is here.

Subsequent winners of the award are below, the list will be updated each month:

November 2013: Contributors to Mumsnet

December 2013: Julie Bentley Chief executive of Girlguiding UK

January 2014: Ellie Slee Blogger at The Huffington Post.

February 2014: Hannah Betts Journalist

March 2014: Sally Morgan Baroness Morgan of Huyton

April 2014: Caroline Criado-Perez Whine merchant

May 2014: Professor Jennifer Coates University of Roehampton

June 2014: Dina Rickman London-based ‘journalist’

July 2014: Harriet Harman Labour MP

August 2014: Jo Swinson Liberal Democrat MP

September 2014: Meg Hillier Labour MP

October 2014: Laura Bates Whine merchant. The second time Special Snowflake has won this award.

November 2014: Dr Heather Savigny Politics lecturer, Bournemouth University

December 2014: ‘womaninthewoods’ A woman suffering from Feminist Personality Disorder

Demands on our time mean we can’t present these awards as often as they’re deserved, so henceforth they’ll only be presented on an ad hoc basis.

July 2015: Sarah Pritchard Associate professor, Cornell University

October 2015: Emily Thornberry Labour MP

November 2015: Carolyn Fairbairn Director-general, CBI

Please email me mike@j4mb.org.uk with details of any feminist you’d like to nominate for an award. I know it’s difficult to choose just one out of so many obvious contenders, but do your best. Thank you.